Simple Sugarless Applesauce

I have a ton, or about 50lbs, of fallen apples. You may have seen my picture of apples taking a bath.

With the apples that were more damaged, I made some applesauce.

I cut up enough apples to fill a large pot to almost the top. I only peeled the skin on about 1/4 of the apples.

I threw out the bad parts. I can’t compost them because my apples have critters. The easiest way to reduce the numbers of pests are to throw out the portions I don’t use and the really damaged apples. I go out daily and throw out any fallen apples that are too damaged to eat. Hopefully the apples will look better next year since they look better than last.

After I filled up the pot with cut up apples, I added about an inch of water.

Image

I put the pot on the stove on high until it came to a boil and then lowered it to medium.

I added the juice of two lemon slices, probably around a tablespoon.

Cinnamon came next. I sprinkled the top thoroughly with cinnamon once, stirred it up and then sprinkled it a second time, stirring it again.

I occasionally stirred the applesauce and let it cook on medium for about 30 minutes.

I usually let it cook for less time because I like it chunky but I got distracted with preparing my canning stuff.

I filled up another pot with water and put a washcloth in. I brought it to a boil and added a couple of reused jars for ten minutes. I also added the tops for about 5 minutes.

I took out the jars and filled them with applesauce. Surprisingly I think I only made about 2 quarts of applesauce (minus the two bowls the kiddos ate while still hot) because it really cooks down.

After filling the jars, I wiped the edges, screwed on the tops and put them back in the boiling water for another 10 minutes.

After processing, I put the jars on the counter. I could only tell if one was shelf safe so the other went in the fridge.

Image

You can also freeze applesauce if you leave a little room in the jar. I packed mine pretty tight this time around.

Yeah, I didn’t use the traditional canning jars. How well it’ll work, not sure. But I like to use what’s around the house before buying something new.

When it’s time to eat the applesauce in a couple months, I’ll let you know if it survived.

Until Next Time…

Leave a Reply

