Scrumptious Saturday: Homemade Homegrown Plum Jam

We have two plum trees, not counting the cherry plum tree that is growing entangled with one of the bigger plum trees. That makes three different types of plums and lots of them.

Homegrown Plums

Homegrown Plums, Some are way too ripe and going to compost pile.

I searched the internet for plum recipes, the classic being jam. This is my starter recipe. I made a couple of changes after I read the reviews. I added an extra 1/2 cup of plums and a tablespoon of lemon juice. I took out a half cup of sugar.

I cut up and de-stoned my plums, then I put them in a food processor to get the skins really tiny.

Hot Plum Jam

I also added the pectin before the sugar, someone mentioned in the reviews that this will help the jam set.

This is my first batch of jam, ever. It tastes good. It’s really sweet and has a hint of tartness. The color is a lovely plum red.

My version of the recipe made 7 1/2 half pint jars. It might have made 7 3/4 jars if I had scraped off more gooey goodness from the pot.

Here are my jars getting sterilized for 10 minutes.

Here are my jars getting sterilized for 10 minutes.

One jar to my favorite aunt. One jar to my oldest child’s bff’s family. The rest for us, muahahahahaha πŸ˜‰

(seriously it’s so good, it’s sinfully bad)

I'm holding up the jar of Plum Jam to the light so you can see how pretty it is :)

I’m holding up the jar of Plum Jam to the light so you can see how pretty it is πŸ™‚

Till next time…

2 thoughts on “Scrumptious Saturday: Homemade Homegrown Plum Jam

    1. 3moonmama Post author

      Thanks! I have a whole tree to harvest still. It’s a bit slower than the others. I’ll be making wine (for the first time) and more jam (for the second time).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

